Utilitarianism in Public Health

How can we perceive and address ethical challenges in public health practice and policy? One way is by using ethical concepts to shed light on everyday practice. One does not have to be a specialist in ethics to do so. This document is part of a series of papers intended to introduce practitioners to some concepts, values, principles, theories and approaches that are important to public health ethics.

Many authors argue that public health interventions and programs are rooted in utilitarian ethics (Holland, 2007; Horner, 2000; Nixon & Forman, 2008; Rothstein, 2004; Royo‑Bordonada & Román-Maestre, 2015). For example, Royo-Bordonada and Román-Maestre write that “public health is in essence [...] utilitarian because it seeks to preserve the health status (something that contributes to the well-being of persons) of the maximum number of individuals possible, ideally the entire population” (2015, p. 3). Roberts and Reich (2002) also assert that the utilitarian perspective seems particularly intuitive to those working in public health. According to these authors, utilitarian ethics would therefore seem to be well suited as a theory for evaluating and justifying the morality of public health interventions and programs and, by extension, for determining what we should and should not do in the area of public health.

But what is utilitarianism? What are its main strengths? What are the main ways in which it has been critiqued? And what role should utilitarianism play in public health? In this short document, we will try to respond briefly to these four questions, showing, in particular, that the presumed link between public health practice and utilitarian ethics is not as evident as it may seem at first glance. Since utilitarianism is a normative ethical theory, we will begin by discussing what that means.

Utilitarianism in Public Health

Author(s): 

Subject(s): 

Publication type: 

ISBN (electronic): 

978-2-550-87860-5

L’utilitarisme en santé publique

Comment voir et relever les défis éthiques dans la pratique et les politiques de la santé publique? Notamment en utilisant les concepts éthiques pour éclairer les pratiques quotidiennes. Pour cela, nul besoin d’être un spécialiste en éthique. Ce document fait partie d’une série dont l’objectif consiste à introduire les praticiens à certains concepts, valeurs, principes, théories ou approches importants pour l’éthique en santé publique.

Plusieurs auteurs soutiennent que les interventions et les programmes de la santé publique sont ancrés dans une éthique utilitariste (Holland, 2007; Horner, 2000; Nixon et Forman, 2008; Rothstein, 2004; Royo-Bordonada et Román-Maestre, 2015). Par exemple, Royo-Bordonada et Román-Maestre écrivent que « la santé publique est, dans son essence même […], utilitariste, parce qu’elle vise à préserver la santé (quelque chose qui contribue au bien-être des personnes) du nombre maximal d’individus possible, idéalement de l’entièreté de la population » (2015, p. 3, traduction libre). Roberts et Reich (2002) affirment également que la perspective utilitariste serait particulièrement intuitive pour les acteurs de la santé publique. Selon ces auteurs, l’éthique utilitariste semblerait donc être une théorie bien adaptée pour évaluer et justifier sur le plan moral les interventions et les programmes de la santé publique et, par extension, pour déterminer ce que nous devrions faire et ne pas faire en santé publique.

Mais qu’est-ce que l’utilitarisme? Quelles sont ses principales forces? Quelles sont ses principales critiques? Et quel rôle l’utilitarisme devrait-il jouer en santé publique? Dans ce court document, nous tenterons de répondre brièvement à ces quatre questions en montrant notamment que le lien présumé entre la pratique de la santé publique et l’éthique utilitariste n’est pas aussi évident qu’il peut paraître de prime abord. Comme l’utilitarisme est une théorie éthique normative, nous commencerons par expliquer ce dont il s’agit.

L’utilitarisme en santé publique

Auteur(s): 

Sujet(s): 

Type de publication: 

ISBN (électronique): 

978-2-550-87859-9