The stages of labour

Photo: Véronique Maher

Throughout labour your body undergoes changes to allow your baby to make his way to the world outside. Labour is divided into these three main stages:

First stage: Opening of the cervix (also called dilation)
Second stage: Descent and birth of your baby
Third stage: Delivery of the placenta

It isn’t possible to predict the length of each stage because they differ from one delivery to the next.